skip to main content
LocalGov Digital

Vote now for your Digital Leaders

Digital by Default News has announced its long list ahead of the Digital Leaders 100 awards in June.

Amongst them are 10 talented local government digital folk – including founding member of LocalGov Digital and Communications and Community Management Lead Sarah Lay.

Sarah, who is a Senior Digital Officer at Nottinghamshire County Council,has played a key role in the creation and growth of LocalGov Digital and is also a lead officer working on digital transformation and development for her council.

Her current focus for LocalGov Digital is running the group’s communications including co-curating the daily links alongside Lambeth’s Karen Jeal and organising LocalGovCamp 2014and the fringe events. She has written for the Guardian about digital in the sector and you can find her own blog here.

LocalGov Digital congratulates all the finalists and feel it shows the breadth of digital talent within the sector, recognises the good digital work being done by officers at many authorities and also reflects the flatter leadership structures that digital working and engagement brings.

Other finalists include Lorna Perry who is involved with our LocalGov Digital Makers work stream; Steve Halliday whose work via SocITM to facilitate the roll out of GDS’s performance dashboard to local government we support; and former steering group member Helen Reynolds, although no longer working in the sector she leaves an impressive digital legacy at Monmoutshire.

The full list of local government finalists is:

  • Sarah Lay (Nottinghamshire County Council)
  • Steve Halliday (Solihull MB Council)
  • Helen Reynolds (Monmouthshire Council)
  • Joanna Goodwin (Monmouthshire Council)
  • Lorna Perry (Shropshire Council)
  • Emma Rodgers (Stoke City Council)
  • Keith Aubrey (Melton Borough Council)
  • Natalie Luckham (Wiltshire Council)
  • Isobel McKnight (North Ayrshire Council)
  • Georgia Turner (Bournmouth Council)

Last year’s winner in the local government category was Ian Watt of Aberdeenshire Council.

The awards also includes categories for elected members, central government, start ups and industry bodies and companies.

Voting is open until 2 June and this result will be combined with the judging of an expert panel. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner as part of the National Digital Conference 2014 on 18 June in London.

You can vote here.